Yes We Scan: Inaugural Weep Factor

by

artobamaspeechcnnOkay. So Obama makes me cry. Constantly. When he was just that skinny kid with the funny name giving a speech at the DNC I wept, wept, wept, thinking OMG, could this dude make me gaga over government?

Yes, it turns out, he can. I went through boxes of tissues while he was on the campaign trail, listening to his speeches imagining a brave new world. I assumed this Inauguration would get my waterworks rolling, my contacts encrusting in salt as I dabbed my sleeves against my eyes.

But. Weird. Not so much.

Here’s a ticker to my reactions, per CNN’s broadcast.

11:47. Okay, so I was looking for a good cry. Sen. Dianne Feinstein got me started, with her kickoff comment: “This was the moment when the dream that once echoed across history…finally reached the walls of the White House.” Yay, rhetoric! Perfect to get me going!

11:51 Rick Warren. He does not make me cry. He makes me laugh when he utters the First Daughter’s names like he’s saying “Maracas!” after too many tequila shots. “Sa-sha!” Ma-li-A!”A cha-cha-cha!

11:55 Ok. So maybe Aretha Franlin’s hat brings me back to tears.

11:57 Squinty potato head Joe Biden getting sworn in does not stir me.  But knowing that Barack is moments away has my skin tingling. Even more than those beach shots.

11:50 Yo-Yo Ma, Itzahk Perlman, Anthony McGill and Gabriela Montero play “Air and Simple Gifts.” This expressive piece has the right notes of introspection, quiet hope, and joy and my eyes well up. It’s like a perfect movie moment, which makes sense, because John Williams arranged the score. The newscaster interupts to tell us its just after noon and officially: “He is now the President of the United States.” And my eyes spill over.

12:05 Okay. So Barack is human and stumbles as he gets sworn in by John G. Roberts Jr.  Incorrectly. Which the news reports was Roberts’ fault. Thus, Obama flubs it, something along the lines of: “I Barack Hussein Obama do solemnly swear that I will execute the office…of…um…what? Huh? Dude, you are like, totally giving me the wrong lines here.” It’s cute, yet weird, and the tears dry up with my, and Obama’s confusion.

12:07 It’s an Obama speech alright. The America he depicts is full of “gathering clouds” and “raging storms.”  The economy is “badly weakened,” schools, health care, and energy sucks. There’s “a sapping of confidence across our land.” Oh, and I thought that was just my low-self esteem Ex.  Hello, downerville?

Yet he picks up the mood, saying the challenges will be met, and we all need to grow the F up. “We remain a young nation but in the words of scripture the time has come to set aside childish things!” Evoking Jay-Z, sort of, he advises us to brush the dirt off our shoulder and kick some ass, while maintaining humble, of course.

Shutterbug Malia snaps pics of her dad on her digicam and this, in addition to shots of the weepy crowd, gets me all emotional again. I kind of love this diverse America. Not the scary hater, racist, sexist, evil part of America, but I don’t believe they are at The Mall today.

I maintain a decent eye-water level as Obama digs deep into our history, claiming our “patchwork heritage is a strength,” reminding me of my own immigrant parentals. He tells baddies and meanies everywhere: “We will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist.” In a cool hi-five?

Instead of tears, I feel full of fight. And that’s his point, right? Bellyaching is one thing, and making shiz happen is another. As we can, thus we should!

Let’s get off our holiday-party fattened fannies and be, like, totally awesome again, okay? Because that hottie in the office looks so good, when he reminds us: “the world has changed and we must change with it.”

Cue change. And…action!

One Response to “Yes We Scan: Inaugural Weep Factor”

  1. Barack Obama’s Speech: The Really Short Version « TheFakeScan Says:

    […] Obama’s Speech: The Really Short Version By alexmarieleo So we already know Rebecca got all weepy during Obama’s speech, and I’m sure I did too, but now I can’t remember cause it all happened so fast. […]

Leave a Reply

