TechnoFile: Cybersex You Up 101

by

Have we evolved as a culture to the point that the way to a woman’s heart, or groin, is through her cell phone? In a new graduate-level class offered by the engineering program at Potsdam University, students will practice sending “flirtatious text messages.” So far 440 Casanovas-in-training have signed up to learn classics of 21st century courtship such as BTWITIAILW/U. (By The Way I Think I Am In Love With You!)

I like cyberflirting. There are things I’ll type into my handheld that I would never say in person, at least not without half a bottle of wine and some heavy petting. The new Dentyne “Make Face Time” campaign creeps me out. I don’t want to “log off” from my wired life. I want graduate Enginerds to profess their love to me online and my thumbs to get sore from the qwerty foreplay that ensues!

I’m not the only one who feels this way. In 2007, NYU offered an orientation called “Facebook in the Flesh,” designed to teach such old world skills as smiling at someone across a crowded room. This past fall, the workshop was cancelled—seems new students weren’t interested in learning small talk when it’s is so much easier to iChat. For now, I’ll keep “poking” potential bfs online so I can knock boots for real.

Leave a Reply

