Deep Dish: Swayze Sways Me With Heartwrenching New Interview

by

Patrick Swayze was my first celebrity crush. The dirty dancer of my dreams. Excerpts from his interview tonight with Barbara Walters have me in tears. Twenty years after pulling Baby out of that corner, he discusses his 11-month battle with Stage 4 pancreatic cancer.

The exclusive interview airs tonight on ABC at 10pm ET. In it he confesses, “There’s a lot of fear here. Yeah, I’m scared. Yeah, I’m angry. Yeah, I’m [asking], why me.” Turns out, facing your own mortality is not as simple as some sexy pottery spinning. “I don’t know what’s on the other side,” he says. “It tests everything I believe in—that there is something unique in all of us that does not die.”

Last year I was psyched to hear he was cast on a new TV series, A&E’s spy thriller “The Beast.” But his diagnosis in June threatened his new gig playing an undercover FBI agent chasing bad guys through the streets of Chicago. Amazingly, he has beaten the odds (original prognosis = 6 months) with a combo of chemotherapy and experimental therapy, and a New York Post review of the show says that “if Swayze’s stamina was diminished during the [filming]…you’d never know it.” But I can’t help but notice that our beloved hunk no longer sports that Johnny Castle swerve; Swayze’s cop Charlie Barker is haunted, gaunt, and willing to do anything to win—just like the guy who plays him. Let’s not make this the last dance, ok, Patrick?

Links:

ABC News Page for Walters Special
He’s already come back to life once before
Early Review of “The Beast”

Leave a Reply

